Transit Modes

The transit modes allow you to specify (using the modes request parameter) various modes that you wish to be included in the transit routing response. By default, all transit modes are supported if this parameter is omitted in a request. Currently a total of nine (9) transit modes (such as trains, buses, ferries, trams, and others) are supported, with up to 14 unique modes.

Table 1. List of transit codes and corresponding vehicle types

Name Vehicle types
highSpeedTrain High-speed trains
intercityTrain Intercity/EuroCity trains
interRegionalTrain Inter-regional and fast trains
regionalTrain Regional and other trains
cityTrain City trains
bus Buses
ferry Boats/Ferries
subway Metros/Subways
lightRail Trams
privateBus Ordered services/Taxis
inclined Inclined/Funiculars
aerial Aerials/Cable cars
busRapid Rapid buses
monorail Monorails
flight Airplanes
walk Walk

The string parameter modes takes a comma-separated list of modes in two possible formats:

  • name_1,name_2,...,name_N - enable specified modes and disable everything else
  • -name_1,-name_2,...,-name_N - disable specified modes and enable everything else


The following examples show how to include/exclude modes from the response:

  • Intercity/EuroCity trains, buses and trams only:
    • modes=intercityTrain,bus,lightRail
  • Metros/Subways and buses only:
    • modes=subway,bus
  • All types except buses:
    • modes=-bus
  • All types except high-speed trains, metros/subways, and monorails:
    • modes=-highSpeedTrain,-subway,-monorail

Warning: Invalid request

It is not allowed to enable and disable modes at the same time, for example:


This would render your request invalid and the API would return an error.

results matching ""

    No results matching ""